Baked Falafels

Okay, it’s been bugging me that my first recipe on here was so absolutely unhealthy, since I like to think that I eat a semi-healthy diet (not really, let’s be honest–I try, but I fail), so to counter it I figured, let’s do something that is healthy, and absolutely DE-LISH!

Falafels are made mainly from chickpeas, and are a great vegetarian protein option (yay!), but they are usually fried, and therefore not quite up to healthy standards. I’m weird that way (and many others, you’ll see). If I’m eating healthy, I want it to be REALLY healthy, and if I’m eating unhealthy, I want it to be REALLY unhealthy :). Oh well.

Image

These are so easy, and so delicious, and so good for ya! Here goes.

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 1 (15 ounce) can chickpeas (garbanzo beans), rinsed and drained
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley (I substituted spinach because I didn’t have parsley, but it wasn’t as flavourful as it should have been. Use. Parsley.)
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 tablespoon wholewheat flour
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • non-stick cooking spray

Preheat your oven to 400 F.

First, wrap your chopped onion in a few sheets of paper towel and gently squeeze it to remove excess moisture, then set aside.

Place chickpeas, parsley, garlic, cumin, red pepper flakes, salt, and baking soda in a food processor, and process until the mixture is roughly pureed. Mix the puree in a bowl with the onion, and then stir in the beaten egg and the whole wheat flour.

Shape your mixture into roughly 12 one and a half inch patties (I got 13, but hey).

Cover a cookie sheet with foil, and spray lightly with non-stick spray. Arrange patties on the sheet, and bake for about 30 minutes, or until crisp and brown.

Serve warm in a pita or do my favourite and have a couple on a salad 😀

Image

YUM. Just a simple garden salad with a spicy mustard dressing (about a tablespoon of water to 2 teaspoons of mustard powder and a bit of black pepper).

-Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

