Peanut Butter Heaven Cupcakes

So, I have an unhealthy obsession with peanut butter. It can be good for you, don’t get me wrong, but not when you do what I did yesterday and bake it into a cupcake and cover it in sugar. Then it is just unfairly delicious and so, so bad. But I still had two 😀

I’ve made this recipe before, and to tell you the truth, it’s just a (much tastier) adaptation of a recipe off of allrecipes.com for PB and J Cupcakes, and it’s really easy and not at all from scratch, but my younger cousin had been asking me to show him how to cook something, and I figured something easy and very fun and tasty was perfect, so here we have Peanut Butter Heaven Cupcakes, or reverse Reese’s Pieces, as I like to call ’em.

Peanut Butter Heaven version:

Image

Reverse Reese’s Pieces versionImage

I didn’t call them that because yesterday I didn’t fill them like I did when I made them before, I used some other fun ingredients which we had on hand, and they turned out just as delicious as before!

Ingredients:

Cupcakes

  • 1 box of (2 layer) white cake mix
  • 1 (3.4 ounce) package JELL-O Vanilla Flavor Instant Pudding
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup cold water
  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter

Chocolate icing

  • 2.5 cups of confectioners sugar
  • about 5 tablespoons of cocoa powder
  • splash of almond milk
  • cornstarch
  • Chocolate syrup (optional)

Filling (optional)

  • Toffee pieces
  • chocolate chips
  • mini marshmallows

Now for the fun part: making the most awesome cupcakes EVER.

Start by preheating your oven to 350 F, and lining 24 cupcake tins with whatever liners you like best, I always use paper ones.

Beat together cake mix, vanilla pudding mix, eggs, water, and peanut butter, and spoon into lined cupcake tins, then bake 18 to 21 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in the centre of a cupcake comes out clean. Cool completely.

For the icing, I usually just play by ear until I get something that works, but I tried to be a bit more exact here. Stir the confectioners sugar and almond milk together, then add cocoa and corn starch until you have a nice, icingy consistency. I said I wasn’t very precise, okay?

Now, what I think is really fun: filling them. You can be boring and just ice them and be on your way, or you could be fun and make them into little peanut butter cloaked surprises. If you want to make the reverse Reese’s Pieces version, just fill with chocolate syrup or a small spoonful of the icing, or you can do what I did yesterday and stuff ’em with toffee, a mini marshmallow or two, and chocolate chips. I actually didn’t let them cool before I did this, and it kind of all melted together into awesomeness in the hot cupcakey centre.

To fill them, just cut about a one inch square in the top of the cupcake, then use the tip of your knife to remove it, being careful to not hit the bottom of your cake. Now, you can put in whatever you’d like, be it, icing, chocolate chips, toffee, marshmallows, or a combination of any of those. After you’ve filled it, press the removed square back into place, and ice the top to hide your knife marks. It really is wonderful to watch people bite into a dessert to find a little pool of awesomeness in the middle!

-Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

