Beef Pot Pies (Yes, two!)

As I’ve mentioned, I don’t do meat, so I was pulling out the latex gloves for this recipe, requested by my grandpa. Only until the touching of the raw meat was done, then I was good ūüėõ

Because there is only one meat eater here, I made these small, so a whole pie isn’t sitting in the fridge for days after it’s been made. Therefore, I ended up with two adorably small pies.¬†Image

Seriously, how cute are they?!

Anyway, I started off with a home made crust for these, but you can use a store¬†bought one. I like doing things from scratch though ūüôā

Crust Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cups¬†all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon¬†salt
  • 1/2 cup¬†butter, chilled and diced
  • 1/4 cup¬†ice water

In a large bowl, combine flour and salt. Cut in butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Stir in water, a tablespoon at a time, until mixture forms a ball. Wrap in plastic and refrigerate for 4 hours or overnight.

Roll out when you need it. I doubled the recipe and froze half for another time.
The recipe I found for this pie comes off my favourite food site, All Recipes, and I made one small change to it, just because I felt like it. I probably could have made it a little smaller, as I had a bit of left over filling, but not enough for it to matter. This is all I needed:
Image
It was pretty simple.
Filling ingredients:
  • 2 cups¬†diced cooked potatoes
  • 1 (10 ounce) package¬†frozen mixed vegetables, thawed
  • 1 1/2 cups¬†diced cooked beef
  • 1 (10 ounce) can of cream of mushroom soup
  • 1/3 cup¬†water
  • 1 teaspoon¬†Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2¬†teaspoon¬†dried thyme leaves, crushed
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried rosemary leaves

To cook the beef, I cut it in small chunks (maybe 2 square centimetres?) and browned it in a pot with a couple teaspoons of canola oil, and I just boiled the potatoes until tender.

Put the potatoes, vegetables, and beef in a bowl and mix, being careful not to crush the potatoes. Image

Next, mix the soup, water, thyme, rosemary, and Worcestershire sauce in a second bowl. It will make a very thick sauce, which you will spoon over the mixture, after you have spooned it evenly into the pie crusts.

Image

Image

I made sure to carefully lift the beef, vegetables and potatoes to allow for the mixture to be spread evenly throughout the pie.

You will have lots left over with the crust recipe for this to cover the pies (after you cut off the excess and re-roll it), so roll it out and place over the pies, crimping the edges with a fork and making slits in the top.

Image

I froze mine so my grandpa can make them when he wants to, but if you’re doing them right away, bake them in a 400 F oven for 35 minutes, or until the crust is golden.

Image

 Update:

Papa loved the one he had for supper tonight. Cooked up beautifully!

IMG_20140227_185507 IMG_20140227_184834

-Happy cooking!

4 thoughts on “Beef Pot Pies (Yes, two!)

Leave a Reply

