Shortbread Cookies

I’m not a huge shortbread fan, but my dad loves them. Their buttery flavour and their melt-in-your-mouth texture are right up his alley! Therefore, I definitely needed to make them!

Now, I’d heard horror stories about shortbread cookies being notoriously hard to make, especially in Grenada, where pastries and doughs never turn out right because they don’t like the warm air, but that didn’t stop me! There are a ridiculous amount of recipes floating around the internet claiming to make the best shortbread, but I decided to go with the simplest one I could find for my first time making this, and I couldn’t be more happy with the results!

Image

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup butter, chilled

This recipe makes 32 cookies, and is really so simple.

Begin by preheating your oven to 350 F.

Place your dry ingredients in a food processor, and pulse to combine.

Cut butter into large chunks with a sharp knife, and place (still very cold) in the processor and pulse until the dough becomes crumbly and starts to stick together.

I used a 9.5 x 11 inch pan, but a 9 x 9 will work well too. Place the dough into the pan, spreading it evenly, and press it down as much as you can with the bottom of a flat bottomed cup. Try to make the surface as smooth as possible.

Take a sharp knife and make 8 x 4 rows, to make 32 cookies. You can prod it with a fork too, if you want the classic short bread look 🙂

Bake for 30-50 minutes (I say this because my oven is very strange, and the cookies are weird with getting the correct time. Start with 30 and see where it goes from there), until they are lightly browned. Remove from the oven, and while still hot, cut along the lines you made prior to baking. Allow them to FULLY cool in the pan, and the remove them. This step was really easy for me because I used a silicone pan. Store them in an air tight container, and enjoy!

Image

-Happy cooking!

Leave a Reply

