Insanely Delicious Pizza Sauce

My dad and grandpa were feeling like pizza for dinner tonight, and I was more than happy to oblige, but instead of letting them order out, I decided to make it right here at home with a [mostly] whole wheat crust, fresh toppings, and a home made, veggie packed sauce. That’s what I’m going to post about at the mo, and I may end up doing a demo for the dough. If not, you can always look at the page I’m borrowing the recipe from, complete with a demo video, which I always like! Here it is, on AllRecipes.com. I did half the dough, as was recommended for a thinner crust (which was plenty thick, and I don’t recommend any thicker), and topped it with sauce, mozzarella, red bell pepper, onion, mushrooms, and salami.

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup minced onion
  • 1/2 cup chopped button mushroom
  • 1 clove minced garlic
  • 1/2 cup chopped parsley
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 6 oz tomato paste
  • 1 tsp celery seed
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 bay leaf

The method for this sauce is pretty easy, but don’t let it burn! The first time I made this, it scorched a bit on the bottom, and my taste tester, Dad, found it tasting kind of sour and I had to redo it.

Heat the olive oil in a medium sauce pan, on medium heat, and then add the mushrooms, the onion and the garlic, and cook until soft. Then add the parsley.

Add the water, then the tomato paste, and stir. I think that’s what scorched and messed up on my first try, so make sure water first, then paste.

Add the rest of the ingredients and stir well. Bring the heat down to low, and simmer, covered, for 30 minutes to an hour, stirring occasionally. If towards the last ten minutes of your time period, you find it a bit a bit too thin to be pizza sauce, crack the lid of the pot to allow it reduce a bit. Just make sure to remove the bay leaf before you put it on the pizza (or spaghetti, if you’d like, it’s pretty tasty), and you’re good to go!

And I must say, I completely forgot to take a picture of this sauce, sorry guys! Instead, I took a picture of the pizza it was placed on. Here ya go:

Image

Papa and Dad loved it, and my Dad said it’s the absolute best homemade pizza he’s ever had!

-Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

