Healthy Brownies

No. I am 100% not kidding at all. These are good for you. Honestly. Yes, I know, I was excited too!

I got them off of the lovely blog Skinny Taste, which just so happens to be the first food blog I ever read, or subscribed to! It’s wonderful. With healthy things. Go check it out! I owe my discovery of this recipe to that blog.

I wasn’t too sceptical when I saw that these brownies called for black beans, because I am a firm believer that food is magical, and you can do insane things with it. My mum, however, was a bit sceptical, and my dad got a rather comical look on his face when I told him of my plans to make them. I didn’t even tell my sister anything more than, “DUDE, I made brownies!” because I wanted her to actually eat them. She’s out at the mo and I couldn’t resist putting this up immediately, so I’ve not got her feed back yet, but I have mine, and holy mother of food, these things are good. They totally and completely do NOT taste healthy. They taste like really good brownies. 

Please don’t judge me for immediately eating two.

Image

 

I can’t keep y’all waiting. Here’s the ridiculously easy recipe!

Ingredients:

  • 1 (14 oz) can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon oil
  • 1 tablespoon unsweetened almond milk (or dairy, skim)
  • 1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon of freshly ground coffee or instant coffee
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips, divided

Preheat the oven to 350 F, and spray a  9 x 9-inch square baking pan with baking spray. I didn’t have one, so I used a weird oval kind of casserole dish. 

Blend everything except the chocolate chips in a blender or food processor.

Image

See? Beans!

Transfer to a bowl, and then fold in half of the chocolate chips. Then pour the batter into your sprayed pan. Sprinkle the other half of the choco chips on top of the batter. I was stunned with how smooth this turned out, and how delicious the batter was. I totally did not lick the spatula and bowl. Nope. Didn’t happen.

Image

 

Bake them for 30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the centre comes out clean. It took me nearly 40 minutes, because my dish was a little smaller, therefore deeper, andthicker, and because my oven is… challenged. Let’s go with challenged.

Look how beautifully they turned out!

Image

 

Please, for your sake, let them cool completely before you cut into them. I would even go so far as to chill them in the fridge for an hour or two. I was too impatient, and cut in and got scraggly lines. I didn’t care, they were ridiculously good.

Image

See the scraggly lines? My impatience will be the death of me one day. Especially with desserts. *sigh*

I can’t wait to give these to my sister. I am going to watch her enjoy one with gusto, and then tell her that they contain black beans. She will eat chickpeas, she will eat navy beans, but she will not eat black beans. Hey, don’t feel bad for her, she told me to disguise veggies in things, because she won’t eat them otherwise. The way I see it, this is an extension of that! I’m a good little sister, really.

Try these! You’ll be glad you did.

-Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

