Irish Soda Bread

This is a recipe for Irish Soda bread which I found on the blog Skinny Taste quite a long time ago, and didn’t have the chance to try until now. I adapted it, using all white flour instead of half white, half whole wheat, and halving the sugar, omitted the raisins and I added anise seeds! I bought them for making easter bread tomorrow, and they smelled so good that I couldn’t resist. I thought they would be prefect in this slightly sweet, breakfasty type bread. I even sprinkled them in my corn flakes and berries this morning!

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 4 tsp anise seeds (When I make this again, I’ll go up to 2 tbsp, for more anise flavour)
  • 1 1/2 cups reduced fat buttermilk

This recipe is super easy. Preheat your oven to 375 F

In a large bowl, whisk everything but the buttermilk together.

Image

Add the buttermilk a little at a time, until it pulls together into a soft, very sticky dough.

Image

Flip the dough onto a lightly floured surface and kneed it for about a minute, then you can form it into a round, slightly flattened loaf, or you can do as I did and half it, and form it into two smaller round loaves. I did that, because I want to keep one, and bring one to some friends as a little Easter gift this afternoon. Place them (or it) onto a baking sheet with a baking mat or parchment paper on it, or you can do as I did and use a baking tile, preheated in the oven and dusted with flour.Image

For two small loaves, bake for about 30 minutes, (for one larger one, bake for 40 minutes) or until golden, and test to see if they’re (or it’s) done by inserting a tooth pick into one. If it comes out clean, you’re good to go! I saw a recipe for Irish Soda bread where and egg wash was brushed over it a few times as it cooked, but it get’s a lovely golden colour without one. Image

Let it cool for 5-10 minutes on a wire rack, then enjoy plain, or with butter or jam.

Image

This was hard for me to not eat a ridiculous amount of, an I’m not a huge bread fan! Moist inside, crusty, and very flavourful. Sevral thumbs up!

-Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

