Zucchini Carrot Bread

I wanted to bake something new, delicious, and mostly healthy today, so I set out on a crusade to find something. Half way through trolling the web, I remembered I had half a zucchini left, and my dad had bought a ridiculous amount of carrots that needed using up (seriously, like 6 bags), so I started looking around for a carrot zucchini bread, and I lucked out, finding an awesome recipe on the Betty Crocker website! It’s super moist, super flavourful, full ‘o veggies, and half whole wheat (I think it would be just as good full whole wheat, but I have a weird palate), so it’s not a bad snack at all!

IMG_20140507_160723

It’s meant to be baked in 8×4 inch bread pan for an hour to an hour and 15 minutes, but I wanted to try baking it in a large cake pan, to make for slice thin bars and a shorter cooking time, and it worked so well!

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cups shredded zucchini
  • 3/4 cups shredded carrots
  • 3/4 cups sugar
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves

It’s super easy to throw together!  Begin by preheating your oven to 350 F, and greasing your desired pan*.

Put your shredded veggies, sugar, oil and egg into a bowl and whisk together.

image (1)

Next, mix in the flours, baking soda, cinnamon, salt, and ground cloves (feel free to add more or less spices, depending on how much flavour you want, I added a little more clove) until combined.

image (3)

*Spread into a flat cake pan, about 9×12 inches, and bake for about 25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the centre comes out clean. Mine is a silicone pan so it didn’t have to be greased at all.

OR

*Pour into a 8×4 inch loaf pan and bake for about 1 hour-1hour 15 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the centre comes out clean.

image (2)

My family and I (*cough* my sister and I *cough*) ate the first batch so fast that I had to bake another batch the same night! I recommend cutting off the four corner and hiding them, if you’re the baker! They’re crunchy and 100% the best part 😉

image

 

-Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

